Fachportal zur Geschichte und Kultur der Deutschen in Kaukasien

Where to?

The settlement of Germans in the South Caucasus was the last settlement plan that was completed in the tradition established by Catherine­ II. Whilst Tsar Peter ­I (1672–1725) had overwhelmingly concentrated on the North in his concept of foreign policy, the interests of Russia during the 18th century shifted constantly to the South. In this Catherine not only supported scientific research in more remote areas, but also initiated the settlement of farmers there and drew up official invitation contracts in 1762/1763 which established the legal framework for future colonisation.

At first, Catharine’s plans concerned the Lower Volga. But after the Russian conquest of the Crimean Khanate in 1783 and the Treaty of Jassy in 1792 there followed a second major colonisation movement into the Black Sea region, to the Crimea, to Bessarabia and to the area around Odessa. Other migrants to »New Russia« included Swedish peasants, but mainly Dutch, Frisian and Gdansk Mennonites, who had first come to Prussia twenty years earlier at the invitation of Frederick II (1712–1786) but after a change of regime had then feared a violation of their principles of faith along with the lifting of their exemption from military service.

Conquest of the Caucasus 

During the 18th century the Russian border had already been pushed into the Caucasus. A system of connected fortresses (e.g. Vladikavkas and Mozdok) called the "Caucasian Line" secured the border on the rivers Terek, Malka and Kuban and offered vantage points for expeditions into the South. Paul I annexed the kingdom of Kartli-Kachetien in 1801, calling back to the treaty of Gorgievsk, in which Russia guaranteed aid to the king of Eastern Georgia. In the following years, Alexander I establisted a protectorate over the principalities of Western Georgia and incorporated the khanates Gändschä, Baku, Kuba, Talysch, Schirwan, Karabach and Schäki with the treaty of Gülistan in 1813. 

In 1826, Persia tried and fail to gain back its Caucasian possessions. In the ensuing treaty of Turkmenchay in 1828 the khanates of Eriwan and Nachitschewan were handed over to Russia. After the Russo-Turkish war of 1828-1829 the treaty of Adrianopol granted Russia the Achalziche area as well as fortresses along the eastern coast of the Black Sea between Anapa and Poti. 

Captured territory by 1878 / Source: Kappeler, Andreas: Russland als Vielvölkerreich, München 1992.

Stability through immigration and colonisation 

Immigration rights for Armenians and Greeks as well as the settlement of German colonists and Russian sectarians were aimed at strengthening the Christian population in the region. The (majority Muslim) resistance in the mountains of the North Caucasus had only been defeated in 1959, or rather with the mass expulsion of Circassians. 

As a result of the Russo-Turkish wars the Treaty of Berlin in 1878 moved the borders of the Russian Empire further into the Ottoman empire. Two German settlements (Paşaçayır and Karacaören) were thereafter established in the region of Kars,

Tiflis in the 19th century

Under Alexander I, not only this southwards expansion but also the systematic settlement policy of Catherine II underwent a re-launch. His manifesto of 20 February 1804 laid down more stringent requirements on the new settlers: they must be good farmers, specialists in winegrowing, silk-making and livestock farming, or else village craftsmen, and be able to demonstrate a minimal level of property ownership, including wife and children. The number of immigrants was limited to 200 families per year, until in 1819 mass immigration was completely stopped. All of this led to the emergence of 181 mother colonies in the Black Sea region, in Bessarabia and in the South Caucasus.

Terra incognita?

Considering the question what Western Europeans in the 19th century knew about this region brings us to the topic of explorers. German scientists not only contributed to the scientific exploration of the region, they also influenced the perception of the region in Moscow, Petersburg and Western Europe. For educated emigrants, the Caucasus should therefore not have been "terra incognita".

Fachportal zur Geschichte und Kultur der Deutschen in Kaukasien

Wohin?

Die Ansiedlung Deutscher in Südkaukasien 1817/18 war die letzte geschlossene Siedlungsaktion, die in der Tradition Katharinas II. (1729 - 1796) verwirklicht wurde. Hatte sich Zar Peter I. (1672–1725) in seiner außenpolitischen Konzeption noch überwiegend auf den Norden konzentriert, verlagerten sich die russischen Interessen während des 18. Jahrhunderts stetig gen Süden. Katharina II. unterstützte dabei nicht nur die wissenschaftliche Erforschung entlegener Landstriche, sondern initiierte die Ansiedlung von Bauern und schuf mit den Einladungsmanifesten von 1762/63 den gesetzlichen Rahmen zukünftiger Kolonisation.

Zunächst bezogen sich Katharinas Pläne auf die untere Wolga. Doch nach der russischen Eroberung des Krimchanats 1783 und dem Frieden von Jassy 1792 folgte eine zweite große Kolonisationsbewegung ins Schwarzmeergebiet, auf die Krim, nach Bessarabien und in das Gebiet um Odessa. Nach „Neurussland" gelangten neben schwedischen Bauern vor allem holländische, friesische und Danziger Mennoniten, die erst zwanzig Jahre zuvor auf Einladung Friedrichs II. (1712–1786) nach Preußen gekommen waren und mit dem Thronwechsel 1786 die Missachtung ihrer Glaubensgrundsätze sowie die Aufhebung der Befreiung vom Militärdienst befürchteten.

Die Eroberung des Kaukasus

Während des 18. Jahrhunderts waren die russischen Grenzen bereits bis in das kaukasische Vorland verschoben worden. Ein System miteinander verbundener Befestigungsanlagen, wie Vladikavkaz und Mozdok sowie Kosakenstanizen, die „Kaukasische Linie", sicherten die Grenze an Terek, Malka und Kuban' und bildeten damit wichtige Ausgangspunkte für das Vordringen nach Südkaukasien. Der Annexion des Königreichs von Kartli-Kachetien 1801 unter Paul I. (1754–1801) unter Bezugnahme auf den (Beistands-) Vertrag von Georgievsk von 1783 zwischen dem König von Ostgeorgien und Russland folgte unter Alexander I. das Protektorat über die Fürstentümer Westgeorgiens und die Angliederung der Chanate Gändschä, Baku, Kuba, Talysch, Schirwan, Karabach und Schäki (Vertrag von Gülistan, 1813).

Abb.: Eroberung Südkaukasiens bis 1878 / Quelle: Kappeler, Andreas: Russland als Vielvölkerreich, München 1992.

1826 scheiterte der Versuch Persiens die kaukasischen Besitzungen zurück zu erlangen. Im Frieden von Turkmantschai (1828) gingen die Chanate Eriwan und Nachitschewan ebenfalls an Russland. Nach dem russisch-türkischen Krieg 1828–1829 erwarb Russland im Frieden von Adrianopel (1829) den Kreis Achalziche, außerdem die Festungen an der Ostküste des Schwarzen Meeres zwischen Anapa und Poti.

Stabilität durch Zuwanderung und Kolonisation

Zuwanderungsrechte für Armenier und Griechen aus den Nachbarreichen sollte die christliche Bevölkerung in der Region ebenso stärken wie die Ansiedlung deutscher Kolonisten und russischer Sektierer. Eine Niederschlagung des Widerstandes der nordkaukasischen Bergvölker gelang erst 1859 bzw. mit der Massenvertreibung der Tscherkessen 1864. Infolge des russisch-türkischen Krieges wurde 1878 im Berliner Vertrag die Grenze des Russischen Reiches weiter ins Osmanische Reich verschoben. Mit dem Zugewinn von Kars entstanden auch dort deutsche Tochtersiedlungen (Paşaçayır und Karacaören).

Tiflis im 19. Jhd.

Unter Alexander I.  (1777- 1825) erlebte die planmäßige Siedlungspolitik Katharinas II. eine Neuauflage. Sein Manifest vom 20. Februar 1804 stellte verschärfte Anforderungen an die Neusiedler: Sie sollten gute Bauern, Spezialisten für Weinbau, Seidengewinnung und Viehzucht oder Dorfhandwerker sein, einen Mindestbesitz sowie Frau und Kinder vorweisen können. Auf den Weg an das Schwarze Meer machten sich 1803/4 auch Auswanderer aus Baden und Württemberg, bevor die Einwanderungszahl auf 200 Familien pro Jahr begrenzt und 1819 die Masseneinwanderung ganz und gar unterbunden wurde. Insgesamt entstanden im Schwarzmeergebiet, in Bessarabien und in Südkaukasien auf diese Weise 181 Mutterkolonien.

Stellt man sich die Frage, was man zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhundert in Westeuropa überhaupt über diese Region wusste, kommt man auf das Thema „Forschungsreisende". Wissenschaftler deutscher Herkunft trugen nicht nur zur Erschließung des Raumes bei, sie beeinflussten stark die Wahrnehmung von Raum und Bevölkerung sowohl in Moskau und Petersburg als auch in Westeuropa. Auch für – zumindest die gebildeten – Auswanderer war sie also vermutlich keine terra incognita.